Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: Scripting the Tiat raid
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:11 am 
Heir

So I started playing with the Tiat raid last night. Watching videos of it that I could find and reading walk throughs and tutorials.

So I decided to start at the end of the raid and work my way backwards into scripting the Seed of Destruction.

Here's the current progress (forgive the poor quality, I'm still running an ATI 9600 agp card):
http://www.youtube.com/v/UWdtzuAQbK4

A screenshot from like, 6:30am this morning when I was working on it:

Things still to do:
1. Have the priest start in a sitting position (social 1, but she seems to not want to do it, so i need to add a 50ms delay before i queue it).
2. 4 riders around her need to cheer
3. Instead of a direct pan out from Tiat, it should pan across the front lines while the magicians (first row) perform shield/magic barrier. Then the camera should pan back on Tiat for the final skill usage and then release to the player.

Not too hard, just need to update the way the npcs broadcast packets to players so that distance won't mess up the camera work. :) After that it's just a small scripting for Tiat's battle AI and then I can start working on the room prior to him.

The reason it took so long just to get this little bit done is because there's a LOT going on behind the scenes. There are 50+ spawns in that room alone, and ALL of them are perfectly positioned and spaced. :D Not to mention the walk paths, the priest's animations, skill setup and a lot of time fixing bad npc data.

Unlike all those shitty private servers you'll find, myself and the other devs take pride in our work and all of us have OCD on some level. :D So we're REALLY big on the details and getting things right.